Deep South Shop Hop: Stop One, McNeedles, Lacombe, LA, June 26, 2015

IMG_1310

A few weeks ago, I received a promotional e-mail from McNeedles, which is located in a small town across the lake about 45 minutes outside of New Orleans, that they would be having a kickoff party on June 26th as part of a yarn crawl in which they were participating along with four other shops.  For customers who complete the entire crawl by obtaining all five stamps on the passport, there are two prizes:  an Addi interchangeable set (which I don’t need since I already have one), and a basket with yarn goodies from each of the shops (which I also don’t need since my yarn stash has taken over the back bedroom).

Knit Addict Co-Worker frequents McNeedles, and I have been there before, although less frequently.  We agreed that we were going to go to the party.  I thought about it more and decided that I wasn’t going to stop there and I was going to complete the entire Shop Hop.  Even though I don’t need either prize.  (Knit Addict was not so ambitious).  Since my office is on the way, Valiant Husband picked me up after work and we met Knit Addict at the shop, which was staying open after hours for the party.  After acquiring the first stamp on my passport and helping myself to some of the chicken fingers and Texas toast that were set out in the kitchen, I browsed the yarn.

IMG_1313

I was looking for a few specific things and I did luck out.  They regularly carry yarn in Mardi Gras colors, however, the sock weight had been out of stock since before my cruise in April.  Knit Addict checked for me at least twice.  This time I lucked out!  The Yarn is Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock Multi in the “Mardi Gras” color.  I also wanted something blue and gold to match the colors of the dance group I am joining, and found a skein of Zen Yarngarden Serenity Glitter Sock in the “Sandbox” color.  I have also had my eye on the Zen Yarngarden Serenity 20 in the “Blue Hawaii” color for the Ho’okipa Shawl.  Sorry the photo really doesn’t do the colors justice!

IMG_1317

Each shop is also giving out a free goodie and McNeedles had a luggage tag.  They gave one to Valiant Husband, but I don’t think he is going to be using it!  He said something about giving his to Uptown Girl.

IMG_1320

So it was an enjoyable and successful expedition to McNeedles.  Even though I wound up with more yarn I didn’t need!  And even more, since I won the door prize, which was two skeins of Plymouth Linaza.  It has a very nice feel to it, and I might acquire one more color, either the cream color or the raspberry color, and make a Color Affection shawl.

IMG_1331

Then it was on to the next shop!

Leave a Reply

