Inspiration

One can’t always control when inspiration strikes.

In my case, it struck on Sunday about 45 minutes before the Saints game. Valiant Husband and I found a parking spot, walked down to the food court across from the Superdome where we had tacos, then crossed the street and walked through Champions Square. I noticed a margarita stand and, dragging Valiant Husband by the arm, made a beeline for it. Crowds be d-mned! I was a woman on a mission!

Margarita in hand, I noticed that another girl by the margarita stand was wearing a rather nifty sweater with stripes on the sleeves similar to the Team Colors sweater and Drew Brees’ name and number on the back. I complimented her and asked where she got it. She named a boutique on the other side of town. I Googled them. They were open on Sunday! And until 5 pm! So I would have time to go there after the game.

Then I started thinking the same thing every crafts person thinks. I could make it! Cheaper! And better! Considering that my budget doesn’t exactly accommodate my expensive taste, I try to avoid the boutiques. So I scrapped the idea of shopping after the game.

Instead, after we got to our seats, I downloaded a graph paper program onto my iPhone and started fiddling with plotting out the logos for both of my teams. I realized I could add a small Bears logo to the breast of the Team Colors sweater. It was too late to add a number to the back but that didn’t matter because I don’t have a favorite Bears player. In any case I was more interested in designing the logos than I was in the game, and for once Valiant Husband gave me grief about how much I was diddling on the phone, instead of the other way around.

When we got home and I had access to old fashioned pen and paper, I played around with it some more. I made a test swatch with the navy blue and used a stitch-over technique to make the logo. I will make a few adjustments when I actually put it on the sweater, including a white outline, but I got positive feedback from Valiant Husband and Knit Addict Co-Worker.

IMG_0944.JPG

We are not talking about the Bears game against the loathsome Packers. Actually after the outcome of the LSU and Saints games we are still not talking about football at all.

I have big plans to modify the Puck Drop pattern to make a Saints sweater with number 9 on the back and the logo on the breast. Valiant Husband is graphing those out for me since he’s an engineer and is handy with things like that. I also have big plans to use the “Saints” color yarn I acquired at the fiber festival, to make a shawl/scarf with a fleur de lis pattern. And I still have the poor bumped Birchbark sweater. Plus a new order from a friend who needs a baby gift.

Too much to knit, too little time. And 30 more rounds on the second sleeve of the Team Colors sweater in the meanwhile.

Leave a Reply

